The Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology offers recognition opportunities through its diverse award offerings. These awards honor achievements in academic ophthalmology, including research.

Straatsma Award for Excellence in Resident Education honors and celebrates an outstanding Program Director in ophthalmology.  The award recognizes the critical role of the Program Director and celebrates the contributions of the awardee.

Award for Excellence in Medical Student Education provides national recognition for an outstanding medical student educator.

RPB David F. Weeks Award for Outstanding Vision Research recognizes and celebrates an outstanding vision research scientist focused on the understanding and/or treatment of potentially blinding eye disease.

Resident and Fellow Research Forum recognizes promising house officers pursuing a career in academic ophthalmology and vision research.

Related Awards

American Academy of Ophthalmology Commitment to Advocacy Award recognizes a training program and its leadership (department chair/program director) for demonstrating commitment to the
Academy’s Advocacy Ambassador Program and partnership with state and subspecialty societies.
Read more about this award on the American Academy of Ophthalmology website
2023 Recipient
To Be Announced February 1, 2024
Past Recipients
2022 University of Utah Heath, John A. Moran Eye Center
2021 University of Florida College of Medicine, Gainesville
2020 University of Alabama at Birmingham
2019 Boston University School of Medicine
2018 Case Western Reserve University
2017 Emory University School of Medicine, Emory Eye Center
2016 University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine, Department of Ophthalmology
2015 Vanderbilt Eye Institute
2014 Wills Eye Hospital