Straatsma Award for Excellence in Resident Education 2017

The AUPO and AAO are pleased to announce Shahzad Mian, MD as the recipient of the 2017 Straatsma Award for Excellence in Resident Education. This award recognizes and celebrates an outstanding Program Director in Ophthalmology.

Dr. Mian is a Professor in ophthalmology and visual sciences at University of Michigan/Kellogg Eye Center and holds the Terry J. Bergstrom Collegiate Professorship for Resident Education.  He has been director of the residency training program since 2004, serves as the Associate Chair for Education and completed the Michigan Education Scholar’s Program in 2013. Dr. Mian has been a pioneer and leader in enhancing the values of professionalism, patient-centered care, and systems based approaches in developing ophthalmologists for the future. His contributions extend to medical and residency education at large at the University of Michigan to his work as the leader of the Program Director’s group at AUPO and even overseas.